Insights and outsides
 

Due South


I know, I know. Another article about a TV series, although serious things are happening and the war against Iraq is on the doorstep -as I predicted at the end of last year btw.

Here's a link to a fantastic webiste, offering extensive information about one of my all-time favorites "Due South" which is just getting a re-run on German TV.

home.hiwaay.net

The show's humor and its characters appealed to me from the beginning and I was sorry to see the original Detective Vecchio replaced by this admittedly "cooler" looking guy. I always sort of identified with Vecchio because he too had loved and lost and had to live with it, just like me. His outlook on life was also much more pessimistic, than Fraser's, but together they made a great duo to set things straight.

Although part of the show's humor relies on differences and some prejudices Americans hold about their Canadian neighbors, it never bashes either side too strong. Unforgettable is the scene in the very first ep, where Benton Fraser -freshly arrived from Canada- walks up to a prison cell in which Vecchio is pretending to be a crook dealing in illegal textile goods and asks to speak to some "Detective Armani" lol With that, Vecchio's cover was gone, of course.

And then the lovely superior of Fraser, how often did I mutter to myself "Come on now, grab her, kiss her, for Chrissakes" which didn't happen until the famous ep that had Leslie Nielsen as a senior Mountie commander in it.

Okay, soon I will deal with more serious matters again, as the Iraq conflict starts happening and maybe I'll even post some philosophical musings.


 
    
 
online for 8006 Days
last updated: 29.03.10, 15:23
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
Jens Scholz
Hellblazer
Rebecca Blood's Blog
MissFiesFor (PST)
Le Sofa Blogger
Frapp
William Gibson's Blog
Neil Gaiman's Journal
The Homeless Guy
Flames, praise, marriage requests? Click here
Mai 2024
So.Mo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.Sa.
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
Januar
recent
recent

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher